Guide to Exemptions

Unit exemptions may be granted depending on your prior certified learning. 

Exemptions are a way of making sure that you do not repeat learning that has already been undertaken and formally recognised. Depending on the nature and extent of your prior learning, you may be eligible for exemptions from one or more individual study units and examinations.

You may apply by completing the APCL application form together with a mapping document for the relevant CIPS unit to detail your existing qualification and emailing it to our exemptions department. Payment may be submitted by completing the APCL Application form, bacs payment or phoning in your debit or credit card details to the CIPS helpdesk 0845 8801188.

Mapping document templates for each unit are available from the tabs below. An example mapping document has been completed for your guidance. We will also require copies of any relevant syllabuses for the qualification that you have completed. 

We will advise you of the outcome of your application within four working weeks.

For further information please view CIPS FAQs on exemptions for Qualifications 2013 and CIPS position statement on exemptions.

Please select your country below to view the current fee (until November 2018) for each unit exemption:

    Professional diploma in procurement and supply

    Procurement vocational qualifications

    CIPS recognises procurement vocational qualifications (ABC Awards and Gateway Qualifications) as unit exemptions from some units within the CIPS qualifications in procurement and supply at levels 4, 5 and 6. The relevant procurement vocational qualification must be completed successfully by the learner before applying for any exemptions from CIPS qualifications.

    Please refer to the following accreditation statements for more information about the conditions of this arrangement:

    Page Loading
    Page Loading